Seniors Chan Bowman, Juliana Castillo and and Kian Djamali were awarded 2018 Education Foundation scholarships during the annual Scholarship Night at the Performing Arts Center on Wednesday, May 16.

Foundation board member and MCPASD Director of Communications Perry Hibner awarded Djamali with a $500 scholarship renewable for up to four years. Previous winners of the scholarship are Jessica Wang (2017), Rebecca Turk (2016) and Dana Angeli Rodriguez (2015).

Bowman was awarded a Futures Scholar scholarship for $1,250 from the Foundation. Hibner also presented that award. It is the second year the Foundation has offered the scholarship. Last year’s winner was Andrea Aranda Sanchez.

Hibner also awarded Castillo the Foundation Don Johnson Scholarship in the amount of $750. The scholarship is a one-time award through funds raised by the Foundation after the former MCPASD superintendent retired.

Chan Bowman

Bowman has mentored at elementary schools throughout his high school career. He has been a Minority Student Achievement Network scholar the past two years and also serves as the president of the Black Student Union at MHS. Among his honors are a YWCA Racial Justice Summit Speaker Award and a Martin Luther King Jr. Award this past year. He played basketball for four years at MHS.

Juliana Castillo

Castillo has been a member of the Model United Nations Club at MHS for four years and National Honor Society the past two years. She has served as a counselor at Wolf Camp and Camp Invention, both held at Sauk Trail. She also tutors and rings the bell for the Red Cross. She works at Culver’s and in the winter on the Polar Express. She received the Advanced Placement Scholar Award as a junior and also received the Presidents Volunteer Service Award from the Hugh O’Brien Youth Leadership Camp. She also participated in track and field for four years and the ski and snowboard teams for three years.

Djamali played the trumpet in concert and jazz bands for four years at MHS. He has participated in state honors band and orchestra the past two years and also in UW-Madison’s high school honors jazz band. He has served as a leader in Link Crew, a mentoring program to help freshmen transition to the high school, and been a four-year member of the Model United Nations Club.

Kian Djamali

He has done academic tutoring through National Honor Society and also served as a summer soccer coach. He has extensive work experience at Sofra Family Bistro, Madison Futsal and as a soccer referee. He also played soccer for four years at MHS.

 “This is always a special night and we were thrilled to see Chan, Juliana and Kian honored,” Hibner said. “All three are very deserving and we can’t wait to see what the future brings for each of them.”

A committee of MHS staff members selected Bowman, Castillo and Djamali based on criteria provided by the Foundation’s board of directors.

Foundation board members Zach Galin and Ellen Lindgren also sponsored scholarships. Marie Mayers received the Galin Education Scholarship, while Christabel Sackey received the Helping Hand Scholarship from Lindgren.

The Education Foundation was formed in 2011 to provide inspiring experiences for District students and staff. The Foundation has raised nearly $300,000 for its general endowment fund through Madison Community Foundation and another $40,000 for a second endowment fund to benefit disadvantaged students. The Foundation has also provided nearly $100,000 in grants and other donations to the District.

The Foundation recently awarded nine grants to staff and another grant to SPARK, a parent-led group that provides support, education, and a social outlet for parents of a child or children with special needs. The Foundation has awarded inspiration grants to staff totaling more than $83,000 since 2013. Every school in the District has received multiple grants.